How Do I Transfer My Fitbit to Another Person? EASY Guide


A Fitbit is a reliable device for when you want to keep tabs on your sleep and activity. It syncs all the recorded data to your Fitbit account. But what if you’re going to transfer your Fitbit to someone else? Will you lose your fitness data? Or will it merge both of your statistics? We answer these questions and explain how you can safely transfer your preloved Fitbit below.

You can transfer your Fitbit to another person by disconnecting it from your account and pairing it with the new owner’s Fitbit account. The process will involve some preparation on your part and signing up for a new Fitbit account if the new owner doesn’t have one already. 

Contrary to what some users believe, transferring your Fitbit fitness tracker or smartwatch is possible and very easy. Let’s look at a step-by-step account:

1. Sync Your Data One Last Time

Before giving it to someone else, you should manually sync your recorded data one last time. You can do so by opening the Fitbit app on your phone and tapping on ‘Sync Now.’

2. Create a Backup File

To be safe, we suggest creating a backup of your account data and exporting it in a downloadable format to your email ID. You can backup your data by clicking on the gear icon.

  • Go to Settings and select ‘Data Export.’
  • You will be prompted to choose the period, data, and file format you want.
  • Once you decide on the specifics mentioned above, press ‘Download.’

You can also export the data by pressing ‘Request Data.’ You’ll receive a confirmation request to authorize your data archive request. Once you confirm it, you’ll receive another email containing a download link to your Fitbit account data. Save this data file.

3. Remove the Fitbit From Your Account

The next step is to delete Fitbit from your account.

  • Launch the Fitbit app and go to your profile.
  • Choose the device that you want to remove.
  • Scroll down until you see the “Remove device” option. It looks like a trash can on Android and the ‘Remove Device‘ option on iOS.
  • Follow the on-screen directions.

If you want to know whether your Fitbit works away from your phoneOpens in a new tab., this post answers your query in extreme detail

4. Reset the Device 

Resetting the device back to the factory settings is also very important. It will restore it to its original state, removing your saved data, personal information, settings, and downloaded apps so the new user cannot misuse them. You can check out the model-wise resetting instructions available on the Fitbit websiteOpens in a new tab. to learn how to reset yours.

5. Set-up the Device Once Again

Once the device is restored to default settings, it is ready to connect with the new user’s account. You can link it with their existing Fitbit account or create a new one if they don’t have an existing one.

Will My Fitbit Work on Someone Else?

Yes, your Fitbit will surely work on someone else. But they should have their account to sync their data with. If you let them use the device when it is linked with your account, their data will mix up with yours, making it difficult to keep track of your daily activities and sleep. 

The key to letting someone else use your Fitbit is to sync your latest data, unlink the device from your account, and connect it with theirs. All the data your Fitbit collects will be synced with their account as their activity. Once they are done, you can disconnect it from their account and reconnect it with yours to start recording your data. 
If you want to know the locations where you can wear your FitbitOpens in a new tab., check out our guide.

Recent Posts

tech video4
tech video4