Skip to Content

How Do You Stop a Movie on Apple TV?

Apple TV is Apples exclusive streaming service for watching movies and shows. The service initially offered a limited collection of its original programs.

While it certainly is an affordable streaming service, many new and old users struggle with its controls. The Apple TV box may come with its own Siri remote control, but doing something as simple as stopping a movie on Apple TV can be tricky.

The Apple TV does not have a straightforward stop button on the Siri remote. Instead, you get a play/pause button letting you start or stop the movie you are currently watching. Another way is to press the center of the clickpad or the touch surface on the remote.

Once you have used either method to stop the movie, the playback control options will appear on the screen showing you more controls and the elapsed and remaining time.

The Apple TV does not have a simple approach to stopping a movie. But that’s not the only tricky aspect of using it. Many other options, such as how to continue watching, can be

Read on to find out where the Continue Watching option is on Apple TV, how you can clear your history on Apple TV, and how long a movie stays on Apple TV.

Shopping for iPhone accessories can be a pain, but luckily for you, I’ve gathered the best Amazon iPhone accessories, made of high-quality materials, from reputable brands that are made to last. Click here to level up your iPhone!

Where Is Continue Watching on Apple TV?

The continue watching option on Apple TV is located on the “Watch Now” tab. It stores your watch history by linking the information with your Apple ID. You have to select the “Up Next” option in this tab to access the content you recently watched.

Apple TV has a convenient user interface providing access to all the streaming apps you need from a single source — the App Store. But if you are a new user, it will take some time to learn the different controls and options, some of which are disguised. Especially resuming the video where you left it from.

Scrolling through the different episodes and scenes to continue watching is frustrating and time-consuming. But to continue watching the show where you left it requires you to keep your iCloud sync enabled. Otherwise, you will receive different records on all your devices directing you to the various parts of the show.

Ever wondered if you get a discount buying from the Apple store? Discover if theres a difference with buying online or in-person in my article.

How Do I Clear My History on Apple TV?

Open the Apple TV app, click preferences in the menu bar, then make sure the ’Advanced’ tab is highlighted, to delete your watch history click on ”Clear Play History”. All your play-history across all Apple devices will be deleted.

Clearing your history on Apple TV is not just important , it helps you reduce unnecessary recommendations for, let’s say, Dora the Explorer.

Let’s see how you can clear your Apple TV history using Apple TV App, Desktop App, Mobile App, and the Apple TV Box.

1. Apple TV App

The best way to delete your watch history is to do it directly from the Apple TV app.

  1. Launch the Apple TV app on your TV.
  2. Go to “Watch Now” and select your Apple ID Profile, located in the top right corner.
  3. Scroll down the various options until you see “Clear Play History.” Tap on it to delete your watch history.

2. Desktop App

You can also use your Apple desktop device to remove your watch history from all the other devices.

  1. Open the Apple TV app on your desktop device.
  2. Open the menu, and select “TV.”
  3. Now click on “Preferences” and go to the “Advanced” option.
  4. Click on the “Clear Play History.”

3. Mobile App

Clearing your history using the mobile Apple TV app is the easiest.

  1. Launch the Apple TV mobile app.
  2. Press the avatar option located on the top-right.
  3. Scroll down your account information until you see the red “Clear Play History” button.
  4. Tap on it to clear what you have watched on your various devices.

4. Apple TV Box

If you are trying to remove your history using the actual Apple TV Box, here’s what you should do:

  1. Use the remote to head into “Settings.”
  2. Select “Apps.
  3. In the drop-down bar, choose “TV.”
  4. Scroll down the new menu until you see the “Clear Search History” and “Clear Play History” buttons.
  5. Select whichever history information you want to delete.

Thinking of upgrading your Apple TV box? Grab the latest version for a steal on Amazon.

How Long Does a Movie Stay on Apple TV?

All content purchased from the Apple TV, will stay on Apple TV as long as Apple keeps the rights to the content. Rent movies are available le for 30 days to watch, once you press play you have 48 hours to watch the movie.

If you want to watch movies, TV shows, and other content on the Apple TV app, you either have to purchase or rent it. Rented movies are available for 30 days to watch, but as soon as you press play you only have 2 days before it automatically deletes from your library .

TV still has a long way to catch up with streaming giants Iike Netflix, Disney+, and Netflix. Yet, it is a good option for those who want to keep the costs low while enjoying original, high-quality entertainment.

Its important to understand how your Apple ID works with the Apple products and services, check out our guide that answers all your questions about Apple IDs.